Skip navigation

Governing Council

After the Regulations were reformed in 1833, the Governing Board of the Banco Español de San Fernando comprised ten members: Manager (Director); seven directors (Consiliarios), appointed from among the shareholders by the General Meeting; and two syndics (Síndicos), one appointed by the General Meeting and the other by the King. The Law of 4 May 1849 renamed the body as the Governing Council and also created the Governor and two Deputy Governor positions, which were held by Ramón Santillán and Antonio María del Valle and Esteban Pareja, respectively.